Skip To Main Content

Board of Education

NBAS Board of Education Overview

Each school district is governed by a board of education. Under state law, school board members are state officers who carry out the state's educational obligations at the local level. The primary function of the board of education is to oversee the education of people in the community. Educational programs conducted at the elementary, middle and high school levels are most familiar. Under Michigan law, a board of education has the ultimate responsibility for school district operations. Among other things, the Revised School Code gives each board of education general powers to: *Educate students. *Provide for the safety and welfare of students. *Acquire and dispose of school property. *Determine matters relating to school employees and contractors. *Control the expenditure and receipt of school funds. *Make joint agreements and cooperative arrangements. Specific provisions in the Revised School Code also assign responsibilities to school boards in areas such as: *Setting the curricula and courses taught in the schools *Employing a superintendent, other administrators, teachers and support personnel. *Levying local taxes to run the schools and adopting a budget. *Deciding whether or not to furnish transportation for pupils. *Negotiating with employee unions regarding salaries and other conditions of employment. North Branch Area Schools has a 7-member board. Members of the board of education are elected to six-year terms (currently changing from 4 to 6 year terms using a rotation schedule adopted by the Board of Education) on a nonpartisan ballot in November by the voters of the community.

Meeting Dates for 2022

Be it resolved that this resolution shall designate that the North Branch Board of Education will hold their regular Board of Education meetings on the 2nd and 4th Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the North Branch Educational Services Building.

January 23 Regular Meeting
February 13  Regular Meeting
February 27 Regular Meeting
March 13 Regular Meeting
March 27 No Meeting – Spring Break
April 10 Regular Meeting
April 24 Regular Meeting
May 08 Regular Meeting
May 22 Regular Meeting
June 12 Regular Meeting
June 26 Regular Meeting
July 10 Regular Meeting
July 24 Regular Meeting
August 14 Regular Meeting
August 28 Regular Meeting
September 12 Regular Meeting
September 25 Regular Meeting
October 9 Regular Meeting
October 23 Regular Meeting
November 13 Regular Meeting
November 27 Regular Meeting
December 12 Regular Meeting
December 25 No Meeting – Holiday Season
January 8, 2024     Regular Meeting - Organizational Meeting

 

This meeting resolution was duly adopted at a regular board meeting
January 9, 2023

Upon request to the Superintendent, the District shall make reasonable accommodation for a person with disabilities to be able to participate in these meetings.

North Branch Board of Education Members

Daniel Deshetsky, President - ddeshetsky@nbbroncos.net 
Cory Mabery, Vice President - cmabery@nbbroncos.net
Pat Henne, Treasurer - phenne@nbbroncos.net
Cheryl Howell, Secretary - chowell@nbbroncos.net
Jason Cullin, Trustee - jcullin@nbbroncos.net
Maria Hoebeke, Trustee - mhoebeke@nbbroncos.net
Joshua Leach, Trustee - jleach@nbbroncos.net